Texas Conservation Corps Helps Out Mississippi

This past fall, TxCC had the unique opportunity to help out our coastal neighbors. Through a partnership with The Nature Conservancy and The Corps Network, TxCC sent members to the Biloxi, MS area to not only serve through conservation projects, but by helping to build a corps program. Local youth participants were recruited for the 7 week program while TxCC Crew Leaders and Staff did what they do best – lead, teach, keep members safe, and when the days get long, inject a little fun. Everyone, from the corps members to the participating organizations, learned a lot and we are grateful to have had to chance to share our knowledge. Below are reflections from participants of the inaugural Gulf Coast Restoration Corps.

Honestly I must admit this has been one hell of an experience for myself. All my life I’ve lived on the Gulf coast and never have I got a chance to give back/help my fellow community. We went from cleaning all the homeless shacks in the woods, to getting waist deep into rivers and lakes to remove the debris. Along the way our fellow crew leaders Chris and Taylor have taught us many different types of skills, from hands on full action to “total pro mode” as they like to call it. They also taught us how to use and read the water quality meter. Overall the crew was good… And might I add, our crew leaders are totally awesome.

Conservation lifestyle by: Kilo Turner

 

I participated in the Gulf Coast Restoration/Climb CDC Conservation Pilot program led by Taylor Wolter and Chris Gomon. My experience was pretty much new to me. I had never been kayaking or even known about the different vegetation in my area. I learned about which plants were and were not native, how erosion and altering streams were affecting us, and, most importantly, that you shouldn’t wiggle around in a small boat. I liked the adventurous nature of the job but didn’t really like being at the will of nature’s elements. When it comes down to it though, I can dig it and look forward to getting our own Conservation Corps.

-KeJuan “Juice the Glove” Williams

 

I had a very fun experience, and had lots of fun with Chris and Taylor for these weeks. I have learned a lot from them, things I never knew such as, how to evaluate a stream, test the water and kayak. I like everything about this program. There is not a dislike about it, and if I could do it again, I would. And by the way, conservation rocks!!!

-Martin King

 

Hey my name is Lezzeunna May-Cousan and I just completed my first conservation work ever. I’ve had the best crew leaders to teach and help me grow into the person I am today. The best thing about conservation work for me was being out on the water. Everyday on the water was a good time. Conservation work may seem hard and boring at first but when you’re helping many streams, bayous and lakes, its not so hard. I hope everybody that does conservation work has as much fun as I did.

-Lezzeunna May-Cousan

 

Well the ending of a  pilot program is coming. This has been a fantastic run, learning new things and even new experiences. First, we learned to test the water with the water quality meter. Next, came the kayaks… at first sight this was a “no go” for me, but with the confidence of my instructors they slowly persuaded me to do it. We learned what invasive species were and all sorts of other things. Hopefully this will continue.

-Brandon McClarien

 

group2resize stream1resize

Categories: Leadership | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Texas Conservation Corps Helps Out Mississippi

  1. Pingback: Texas Conservation Corps Helps Out Mississippi | Gaia Gazette

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

