SLA Member of the Month spends a week in the Davis Mtns with Texas Trail Tamers

I worked with the Central Texas Trail Tamers which was one of the best experiences of my life. We worked on the Davis Mountains Preserve building a trail going all the way around the side of a mountain side. I had a lot of fun out there with the views and the people; all of which were atleast 70 yrs old and up! The work we did out there was hard but fun and tiring. We got 1/4 of a mile done while we were out there and that’s good for how rocky it was and for how many big deep rocks I had to rockbar out or crush with a double jack. All and all I had a blast working with the Central Texas Trail Tamers and in the Davis Mountains Preserve building an equestrian trail. (I have never built one before!)

-SLA member

Categories: Service Learning Academy Crew, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “SLA Member of the Month spends a week in the Davis Mtns with Texas Trail Tamers

  1. George B. Mading

    It was a real pleasure to work with the two great American Youth Works, Environmental Corps volunteers. Both were credits to their respective organizations and shining examples of what motivated, hard working folks can accomplish. I am proud to to call them both my friends.

  2. levensonjb

    Seventy? Seventy?! I’ll have you young whippersnappers know I won’t be 70 any time soon. I think.

    In all seriousness, thanks for your contributions to this new trail and I hope we get to work together again soon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

