Another Year With E-Corps

Coming into another year with E-Corps is very exciting for me, I am returning for a second term for good reasons. Last year I learned how to run a chainsaw and how to fell trees that I never thought I would be able to. I helped lead volunteer based recovery efforts for the Joplin, MO tornado as well as the Central Texas Wildfires. I learned about Texas ecology, got to spend some time in the desert (being from Iowa this was very exciting), and was able to be one of the first people to enjoy a trail that my crew built. Aside from the exciting work I really got a opportunity to push myself. Being in a leadership role and acting as a role model for my crew was tough, but extremely rewarding. Physically I pushed myself everyday, including running a saw in 100+ degree heat (this is no easy feat!). Last year through all the good and bad was a really wonderful experience for me and I have no doubt that this next year will be just as good, if not better.

John Messina

John (in blue) with his crew from 2011.

Categories: Leadership, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

