Leading into the 2012 Season

As I wrap up my first term of service I am astonished at the variety of experience to which I’ve been exposed to at American Youthworks Environmental Corps. In one year I’ve been a crew member, crew leader, and land steward intern. I’ve worked with FEMA, coordinated hundreds of volunteers, helped disaster survivors sift through rubble, built trails, designed trails using GIS, created habitat for endangered species, conducted vegetation surveys, prepared areas for prescribed burns, helped protect homes from burns, cleared invasives, learned about Texas ecology, taught others about Texas ecology, been a support system, backpacked many miles, operated heavy equipment, and, well I could go on and on. As I wrap up this year I can’t believe the experience I have accrued during one year of service. American Youthworks Environmental Corps has not only given me job experience it has helped me discover who I am and what I want to do. The variety of work that I’ve done and the quality of work that we do will serve me for a lifetime and I could not be more grateful. I’m looking forward to all the experiences that this upcoming year will bring.

Tanner Garth

Tanner felling a hazard tree in Joplin, Mo.

Categories: Leadership | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

